Long-time supporters, IODE, enhance student award

August 9, 2019

The Nova Scotia chapter of the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire (IODE Nova Scotia) recently enhanced its support for a long-standing award at Acadia University by endowing it with a $55,000 contribution. The group also increased the annual award value from $1,000 to $1,200.

For more than 20 years, the provincial chapter has funded a memorial scholarship to support second-year students in Acadia’s School of Education. The award was named in memory of Annie G. Murray (Ladies Seminary, Class of 1911), who was a student at the Nova Scotia Teachers’ College and Acadia University. She was a dedicated teacher, active community volunteer, and loyal IODE member.

IODE award
From left: Barbara Rodney, Assistant Education Officer, IODE NS; Harriet McWhirter (’70), War Memorial Scholarship Officer, IODE NS; Katerina Bakolias, scholarship recipient; Charlene Greenfield, President, IODE NS; and Shelley Reycraft, Education Officer, IODE NS, and Mary Louise Killiam, Past President, IODE NS (missing from photo).

“It is exciting to have the IODE support Acadia’s mandate and endow its fund so that the award continues in perpetuity,” says Nancy Handrigan (’92), Executive Director of Philanthropy. “The IODE is celebrating its 100th anniversary as a women’s charitable organization, and we celebrate their support of Acadia students.”

The scholarship was initiated in 1986 after Murray’s death and was initially awarded to a second-year student at the Nova Scotia Teachers’ College. Since the College closed and Murray attended Acadia, it was passed by IODE Nova Scotia that the scholarship is awarded to a student enrolled in the second year of the Bachelor of Education program at Acadia.

Members of IODE Nova Scotia visited campus to congratulate the 2018 recipient of the annual IODE Annie G. Murray Memorial Scholarship, Katerina Bakolias, of Upper Tantallon, NS.

“Receiving this award means that I will be able to better focus on my studies while continuing to pursue my extra-curricular activities and further my community involvement,” explains Bakolias, who has a passion for theatre and supporting youth. She plans to become a public-school teacher in Nova Scotia and help improve the theatrical landscape.

“We are honoured to be a part of this opportunity to help an Acadia student through the Annie G. Murray Memorial Scholarship,” says Shelley Reycraft, Education Officer for IODE Nova Scotia.  “We know that this partnership will ensure that Annie Murray’s wish will continue.”

Recent recipients of the Annie G. Murray Memorial Scholarship include:

2017 – Victoria Rambaut

2016 – Fallis Thompson

2015 – Adam Hines

2014 – Breagh Potter and Caleb Hill

2013 – Adam Campbell

2012 – Ashley Beck-Sayer and Emily Wheeler


About the IODE

The IODE is proud of its heritage and traditions. In 1900, Margaret Polson Murray of Montreal encouraged the formation of a federation of women to promote patriotism, loyalty, and service to others.

The first chapter, Federation of the Daughters of the Empire, was formed in Fredericton, NB in January 1900. Primary chapters were formed in quick succession across Canada as were junior chapters. Middleton’s chapter, Rosemary, which means “remembrance” was set up to assist with the war effort. The IODE was incorporated as a Canadian women’s organization by a special act of the Parliament of Canada in 1917, with a resounding call to action: “If ever the time comes when women work together simply and solely for the benefit of mankind, it will be a power such as the world has never seen.”

Members volunteer with and for people, focusing on Children, Education and Community Services. Each IODE chapter has the independence to choose and support projects in their own community.

The main benefit of belonging to IODE is being part of a like-minded group of women who work together to improve the quality of life for those in need.

Creating a named award at Acadia

Named student awards can be created at Acadia University for less than $100 a month, making an incredible impact on our students. To discuss your options, please contact Nancy Handrigan (’92), Executive Director of Philanthropy, at 902-585-1042 or nancy.handrigan@acadiau.ca.

Learn more about the IODE Nova Scotia Annie G. Murray Memorial Scholarship.

Visit the School of Education.